What you can do against racism in everyday life!

Let us raise our voice and take action against racism. 

Racism has existed for centuries and where some have believed that the problem would have disappeared in 2020, it is completely wrong out of ignorance. In 2019, the Federal Ministry counted 7,909 racist offenses. Around 3 percent more than in the previous year. About 7 percent of the population have racist views - they devalue people based on their skin color or descent. Around 19 percent are xenophobic, which is also racist - because they agree with statements such as "There are too many foreigners in Germany".


I experienced racism again a few weeks ago. When I took the train, I saw a man insulting a woman because of her skin color. I was shocked that no one around her used their voices to protect her. People keep looking away because they want to avoid unpleasant situations, are not affected themselves, think it would not be so bad, do not want to be in trouble and are even afraid. Such situations are not isolated cases. Nobody should be discriminated, oppressed and  verbally or physically attacked. Treat everyone how you want to be treated. Show respect and make no difference. Everyone should have equal opportunities in life. Let's make change, let’s make a difference. Let us raise our voice and take action against racism. We all have a responsibility if we remain silent instead of acting out loud.

 

I was wondering how I could take the topic further into my everyday life. What can I do against racism on a daily basis?

 

1. Knowledge is power / educate yourself

Find out about racism, because it is all around us. Racism does not leave after social media trends and hashtags like #Blacklivesmatter #Blackouttuesday #JusticeforGeorgeFloyd are forgotten. It is a long process in which each individual has to be very consciously active. Systematic racism does not only exist in America, but all over the world, also in Germany. I have always described myself as an anti-racist and was shocked how uneducated I was at some point. I was completely unaware of how privileged we are. People of Color are born into a minority right from the start. A minority that is oppressed in every respect and does not get the same opportunities that whites take for granted. The better you are informed about racism and the more you educate yourself on the subject, the more strength and arguments we have to take action against it.

 

2. Raise your voice

Talk to your family, children, friends and acquaintances. Position yourself consciously. Discuss the problem and always draw attention to the topic. It is not enough to say: "I am not a racist."

The system, the systematic oppression, must be broken. This can only happen if we always deal with it consciously and raise our voice against it in every situation.

 

3. Take responsibility

It's not about guilt, it's about responsibility. Do not avoid unpleasant discussions and situations. Act proactive. Everyone has a responsibility to fight racism.

Treat everyone how you want to be treated. Show respect and make no difference.

4. Be careful!

Listen carefully to those who are affected when they report on their experiences. Ask how they are, how they feel and what you can do for them. You may not experience racism yourself, but you can learn more about it. It often helps to exchange experiences and get to know different perspectives of those who are affected. The knowledge and commitment will be empowering.

 

5. Support "Local Black Businesses".

It is important to set an example here. The self-employed are too often disadvantaged due to racism.

 

6. Support organizations

Find out about the positions of People of Color on websites of organizations. Get to know their perspective. Support with money donations if your financial situation allows and sign petitions.

 

7. Recognize racism in your life, as well in your past.

Take a moment and reflect on your childhood, your school days and think about all the moments when racism was present.

If you ask people where they come from and they answer Munich - then that's probably just the way it is. Please do not immediately ask about their parents, grandparents. Don't make racist jokes either. It's not fun to joke at the expense of (disadvantaged) other people.

 

8. Recognize your privileges

Not being affected by racism is associated with social, political and cultural privileges. Be aware that people who are not affected by racism - regardless of how they personally feel about this ideology - often benefit from it. Be aware that it is important to get involved and use your own voice for more justice and equal opportunities.

 

9. The most important thing at the end

Stay tuned and don't let yourself be unsettled.

The problem will not be solved in a few days, so it is more important not to give up and continue to stick to the points that have been mentioned. Through continuity and solidarity, we will be able to improve the world together.

 

Film, book and podcast recommendations:

 

FILMS

  • I am not your Negro

  • 13th

  • Dear White People

  • The Rachel Divide

  • American Son

  • When They See Us

  • Black Power Mixtape: 1967-1975

  • The Black Panthers: Vangueard of the Revolution

  • See You Yesterday

  • The Cantral Park Five

  • Get Out

PODCASTS

  • Exit Racism

  • About Race – Reni Eddo-Lodge

  • Seeing White

  • We need to Talk about the British Empire – Afua Hirsch

  • Good Ancestor Podcast – Layl F. Saad

  • 1619 – New York Times

 

BOOKS

HEALTH & MIND

HEALTH & MIND

Self Care & Self Love

HEALTH & MIND

Safe our climate!

What you can do for the environment - simple tips for everyday life

Was du im Alltag gegen Rassismus tun kannst!

Lasst uns unsere Stimmen erheben und aktiv dagegen vorgehen.

Rassismus existiert seit Jahrhunderten und wo manch einer schon geglaubt hat, das Problem ist im Jahr 2020 verschwunden, liegt einfach nur aus Unwissenheit komplett falsch. 2019 zählte das Bundesinnenministerium 7.909 rassistische Straftaten. Das waren rund 3 Prozent mehr als im Vorjahr. Etwa 7 Prozent der Bevölkerung haben rassistische Auffassungen – das heißt sie werten Menschen aufgrund ihrer Hautfarbe oder Abstammung ab. Rund 19 Prozent sind fremdenfeindlich eingestellt, was auch rassistisch ist – weil sie etwa Aussagen zustimmen wie "Es leben zu viele Ausländer in Deutschland". 

 

Ich selbst bin erst wieder Zeuge von Rassismus geworden. Als ich in die S-Bahn einstieg, sah ich wie ein fremder Mann eine Frau aufgrund ihrer Hautfarbe beschimpfte. Erschreckend war, dass keiner um sie herum seine Stimme nutze, um die Frau zu schützen. Immer wieder schauen Menschen weg, weil sie unangenehmen Situationen aus dem Weg gehen möchten, selbst nicht betroffen sind, denken es wäre nicht so schlimm, keinen Ärger haben möchtenund sogar Angst haben. Solche Situationen sind keine Einzelfälle. Niemand sollte diskriminiert, unterdrückt und verbal oder körperlich angegriffen werden. 

Jeder sollte gleiche Chancen im Leben haben. Lasst uns gemeinsam etwas ändern, etwas bewegen. 

Lasst uns unsere Stimme erheben und aktiv gegen Rassismus vorgehen. Wir alle tragen die Verantwortung, wenn wir still bleiben, statt laut dagegen vorzugehen.

Ich habe mich gefragt, wie ich das Thema noch weiter in meinen Alltag mitnehmen kann. Was kann ich alltäglich gegen Rassismus tun? 

 

1. Wissen ist Macht / Educate yourself

Informiere dich über Rassismus, denn dieser ist allgegenwärtig. Rassismus verschwindet nicht, nachdem Social Media Trends und Hashtags wie #Blacklivesmatter #Blackouttuesday #JusticeforGeorgeFloyd vergessen sind. Es ist ein langer Prozess, in dem jeder einzelne ganz bewusst aktiv werden muss. Systematischer Rassismus existiert nicht nur in Amerika, sondern überall auf der Welt, auch in Deutschland. Ich habe mich selbst immer als Anti-Rassist bezeichnet und war erschrocken, wie unaufgeklärt ich war. Mir war überhaupt nicht bewusst, wie privilegiert wir sind. People of Color werden von Beginn an in eine Minderheit hineingeboren. Eine Minderheit, die in jeder Hinsicht unterdrückt wird und nicht dieselben Chancen bekommt, die Weiße für ganz selbstverständlich wahrnehmen. Je besser man über Rassismus informiert ist und je mehr man sich zu dem Thema bildet, desto mehr Kraft und Argumente haben wir dagegen vorzugehen.

 

2. Erhebe deine Stimme

Sprich das Thema bei Familie, Kindern, Freunden und Bekannten an. Bezieh Stellung, positioniere dich ganz bewusst. Rede über die Problematik und mache immer wieder auf das Thema aufmerksam. Es reicht nicht aus zu sagen: „Ich bin kein Rassist.“

Das System, die systematische Unterdrückung, muss durchbrochen werden. Dies kann nur passieren, wenn wir uns immer bewusst damit auseinander setzen und unsere Stimme dagegen erheben. 

 

3. Trage Verantwortung 

Es geht nicht um Schuld, sondern es geht um Verantwortung. Gehe unangenehmen Diskussionen und Situationen nicht aus dem Weg. Handel proaktiv. Jeder trägt die Verantwortung gegen Rassismus zu kämpfen. 

„Behandle jeden, wie du selbst behandelt werden möchtest. Zeige Respekt und mache dabei keine Unterschiede."

4. Sei aufmerksam!

Höre Betroffenen aufmerksam zu, wenn sie von ihren Erfahrungen berichten. Frag wie es ihnen geht, wie sie sich fühlen und was du für sie tun kannst. Du erfährst vielleicht selbst keinen Rassismus, aber du kannst umso mehr darüber lernen. Oft hilft es Erfahrungen auszutauschen und verschiedene Betroffenenperspektiven kennenzulernen. Das Wissen und das Engagement anderer Betroffener kann empowernd wirken.

 

5. Unterstütze „Local Black Businesses“.

Es ist wichtig, hier ein Zeichen zu setzen. Selbstständige werden zu oft aufgrund Rassismus benachteiligt. 

 

6. Unterstütze Organisationen

Informiere dich auf Websiten von Organisationen über die Positionen von People of Color. Lerne ihre Perspektive kennen. Unterstütze mit Geldspenden, wenn es deine finanzielle Lage zulässt und unterschreibe Petitionen.

 

7. Erkenne Rassismus in deinem Leben, auch in deiner Vergangenheit. 

Nimm dir einen Moment und reflektiere deine Kindheit, deine Schulzeit und denk über all die Momente nach, in denen Rassismus gegenwärtig war. 

Wenn du Menschen fragst, woher sie kommen und sie antworten München – dann ist das vermutlich einfach so. Frag bitte nicht sofort nach ihren Eltern, Großeltern. Mach auch keine rassistischen Witze. Es ist nicht lustig, Witze auf Kosten (benachteiligter) anderer Menschen zu machen.

 

8. Erkenne deine Privilegien

Nicht von Rassismus betroffen zu sein, ist mit sozialen, politischen und kulturellen Privilegien verbunden. Mache dir bewusst, dass Menschen, die nicht vom Rassismus betroffen sind – und zwar unabhängig davon, wie sie persönlich zu dieser Ideologie stehen – häufig davon profitieren und Vorteile haben. Werde dir bewusst, dass es wichtig ist, sich einzumischen und die eigene Stimme für mehr Gerechtigkeit und Chancengleichheit einzusetzen. 

 

9. Das wichtigste zum Schluss

Bleib dran und lass dich nicht verunsichern. 

Das Problem wird nicht in wenigen Tagen gelöst sein, daher ist es umso wichtiger, nicht aufzugeben und an den genannten Punkten weiterhin festzuhalten. Durch die Kontinuität und Solidarität werden wir es schaffen, die Welt gemeinsam zu verbessern. 

 

Film-, Buch und Podcastempfehlungen:

 

FILME

  • I am not your Negro

  • 13th

  • Dear White People

  • The Black Panthers: Vangueard of the Revolution

  • The Rachel Divide

  • American Son

  • When They See Us

  • Black Power Mixtape: 1967-1975

  • The Central Park Five

  • Get Out

  • See You Yesterday

PODCASTS

  • Exit Racism

  • Seeing White

  • About Race – Reni Eddo-Lodge

  • 1619 – New York Times

  • Good Ancestor Podcast – Layl F. Saad

  • We need to Talk about the British Empire – Afua Hirsch

 

BÜCHER

HEALTH & MIND

HEALTH & MIND

Self Care & Self Love

Die Verbindung zum eigenen Ich ist der Schlüssel zum eigentlichen Erfolg.

HEALTH & MIND

Safe our climate!

Was du für die Umwelt tun kannst- einfache Tipps für den Alltag.